What Will I Learn in the 6-Hour Texas Adult Education Driving Course?

Last updated: 03-18-2021

Read original article here

What Will I Learn in the 6-Hour Texas Adult Education Driving Course?

If you live in Texas and are between 18 and 25 years old, you will need to fulfill certain requirements before being issued a driver’s license. For example, the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) requires you to take a six-hour adult education driving course approved by the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR).

This adult driving course helps drivers, pedestrians and others who share the road stay safe. Today it’s not uncommon for young drivers to get their licenses later after their 18th birthday. Some 18-year-olds may or may not have had a learner’s permit, making adult driving classes that much more important, says Jacob Smith, program manager for transportation safety at the National Safety Council.

“That age group (18-24) is still really prone to car crashes and there’s a risk that comes with being an inexperienced driver,” Smith said. “There’s also that risk for behavioral issues such as speeding, impaired, or distracted driving, so the need for education is really important.”

If you have to take this adult driving course in Texas, here’s a quick glimpse at what you can expect.

Not everyone has to take adult drivers ed in Texas, but if you do there are certain requirements that must be met. Fortunately, they aren’t too involved, and when you choose a provider like Aceable we’ll handle a lot of the heavy lifting for you.

You must be at least 18 years old to enroll in adult drivers ed. And anyone between 18-25 years old must take the course. 

You’ll only get credit for taking the course if you use a TDLR-approved education provider. Aceable is proud to be the first approved provider for adult drivers ed in Texas!

The Texas DPS will want to see the completion certificate (ADE-1317) before you can get a drivers license. At Aceable, we automatically send the completion certificate out to students as soon as they’re finished.

Keep in mind that if you are a first-time driver’s license applicant between the ages of 18 and 24, you’ll also need to take the written test and road test at a DPS location or a qualified third-party site. If you sign up for adult drivers ed with Aceable you’ll be able to take the DPS written test right in our app. 

Be aware there are separate requirements before you can take the tests, such as providing proof of identity, Texas residency and more.

Many people mistakenly believe that the six-hour adult driving course is a substitute for the state’s Impact Texas Drivers educational video requirement. The video, which specifically reviews the perils of distracted driving, will still need to be completed before you can submit your driver’s license application to the DPS. 

The TDLR has packed a lot of information into just six hours. The Texas adult drivers ed course covers a variety of topics, with safety as its foundational message. 

Expect to learn about basic right-of-way rules, such as giving the right-of-way to ambulances, fire trucks and police vehicles. The adult driving course goes over a variety of other situations where right-of-way laws apply.

The course also covers traffic control devices such as markers, signs and signal lights found in Texas. You’ll learn about their functions and how they help to enforce safety rules for pedestrians, drivers and bicyclists. In addition, as with the right-of-way section, you can expect to learn about examples or situations where a driver must exercise good judgment when encountering traffic control devices.

You may be driving in your own vehicle, but the road is shared with everyone. That is a point that’s highlighted in adult drivers ed. The course will cover traffic flow, how transportation infrastructures interact and sharing the road with pedestrians. 

Respectfully sharing the road is a must so that vehicles can move safely and efficiently. You’ll learn how to cooperate with other roadway users and manage risk in potentially dangerous situations.

Perhaps most importantly, the six-hour driving course examines the effects of drugs and alcohol on your driving abilities. You'll learn about statistics for crashes and deaths that are linked to drug and alcohol impairment as well as distracted driving. 

It’s not as involved as the Texas teen drivers ed course, but the adult drivers ed course is a time commitment. For added convenience, you can take an online adult driving course from a TDLR-approved provider like Aceable. With an online class, you take the course completion exam virtually in lieu of the written test, and you can get your certificate through email.

Ready to take the Texas adult drivers education course? You can sign up in minutes and get started today at IDriveSafely.

*This article was updated on 2/11/21.


Read the rest of this article here